6rml91el6o3etx0yzycr

I’m excited to announce that I’ll be taking up a new ft position as an assistant professor in the College of Theology at Grand Canyon University in Phoenix, Arizona starting in a few short weeks in June 2014. We’ve been really busy finding housing, planning the move, packing, and saying bittersweet goodbyes to our friends, family, Gordon Conwell Theological Seminary (where I have been teaching as an adjunct professor) and two Churches that I attend and love (Park Street Church where I have been Worship Leader for the past year, and Anglican Church of the Resurrection where I have been serving as Pastor, both in Boston). It will be really tough to say goodbye to these people and places that I really love. However, I feel a deep sense of gratitude that I go into this next season feeling a sense of true appreciation and joy with the past year, and the friends I’ve made here in Boston, and from the reality that whenever we return for visits true, abiding friendships have been made here, even in the short year that we have been back in the States.

I visited the GCU campus in Phoenix a few weeks ago and was really impressed with the entire place. I’m most excited to begin working with my colleagues in the department who gave me a really warm welcome, and who are doing excellent work in their various disciplines and courses within the department. There is a real sense of energy and excitement on campus.

I’ll be teaching in the brand new program in Worship Arts which will involve teaching practical ministry courses like Worship Leading along with theological courses such as Theology of Worship. There will also be tons of worship events and summits which will involve songwriting and recording original worship music. All of these areas coalesce into a mix of the very disciplines which I have spent my adult life participating in and cultivating, namely: songwriting, worship leading, writing and releasing records, and studying, researching, and teaching in the field of Biblical studies and theology.

 

Arena 1(1)

Leave a Reply

